• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

About the Laboratory

The Linguistic Convergence Laboratory opened in 2017 at the School of Linguistics of the Faculty of Humanities. 

The aim of the laboratory is to study the mechanisms of convergence in language history, i.e. situations where contact leads to the spread of common features. We also develop tools to identify the results of such processes by analyzing digital corpora of spoken language. 

Whereas evolution in the natural world can be largely explained in terms of adaptation to living conditions, the reasons for language change remain unclear. Language change has been an important topic in the study of language history. Traditional comparative historical linguistics was mostly based on data from written sources and tended to focus on the processes of language divergence. The last century has witnessed an introduction of methods for modelling language change through the analysis of synchronic data of language variation, as well as various methods to analyze language convergence. Modern technologies for recording speech and creating digital corpora make it possible to work with what may be considered as linguistic ‘big data’.

The laboratory focuses on the role of language contact in the history of the languages of Russia. We carry out fieldwork in languages of Daghestan, Adyghe, Mari, Even, as well as north Russian dialects and varieties of Russian that emerge in situations of language contact. 

One of the objectives of the laboratory is creating new corpora of spoken language aligned with audiodata. We also create open online databases of variational and contact phenomena in the languages and dialects of Russia. 

The academic supervisor of the laboratory is Johanna Nichols, Professor Emerita of the University of Berkley, a well-known typologist and expert in Caucasian and Slavic languages. The deputy director is Nina Dobrushina, Professor of the School of Linguistics of NRU HSE.


 

Have you spotted a typo?
Highlight it, click Ctrl+Enter and send us a message. Thank you for your help!
To be used only for spelling or punctuation mistakes.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

О лаборатории

Международная лаборатория языковой конвергенции  была создана в 2017 году на базе Школы лингвистики факультета гуманитарных наук.

Цель лаборатории - исследование механизмов конвергентных процессов в истории языка, то есть языковых ситуаций, при которых контакт между носителями разных языков ведет к появлению у этих языков общих черт.  В лаборатории разрабатываются инструменты для выявления результатов таких процессов по данным электронных корпусов устной речи.

Если эволюция в природном мире в значительной степени объясняется приспособлением к условиям обитания, то причины, по которым меняется язык, до сих пор не вполне ясны. Языковые изменения как таковые являются традиционным объектом изучения истории языка. В классическом сравнительно-историческом языкознании акцент обычно делается, во-первых, на использовании материалов письменной истории и, во-вторых, на изучении языковой дивергенции. Начиная с середины прошлого века в социолингвистике активно разрабатываются методы моделирования языковых изменений через анализ синхронных данных языковой вариативности и, начиная с конца прошлого века, методы анализа процессов языковой конвергенции. Доступные в настоящее время технологии фиксации устной речи и создания электронных корпусов спонтанных текстов с доступом к аудиоданным позволяют работать с большими объемами данных и применять современные статистические методы анализа.

Основным объектом исследований Лаборатории является роль языковых контактов в истории языков России. Мы проводим полевые исследования языков Дагестана, адыгейского, марийского, эвенского языков, северных диалектов русского языка, а также тех вариантов русского языка, которые формируются в условиях языкового контакта.

Ключевой задачей лаборатории является создание новых корпусов, в частности звуковых, которые позволяют автоматический поиск по аудиозаписи. Мы создаем и поддерживаем открытые онлайн-базы данных вариативных и контактных явлений в языках и диалектах России.

Научным руководителем лаборатории является Джоханна Николс, эмеритус профессор Университета Беркли, известный типолог, кавказовед и славист. Заведующим лабораторией является Нина Добрушина, профессор школы лингвистики НИУ ВШЭ.


 

Нашли опечатку?
Выделите её, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и отправьте нам уведомление. Спасибо за участие!